Sunday, Monday, Tuesday - Reisverslag uit Oxford, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Yoshka Plu - WaarBenJij.nu Sunday, Monday, Tuesday - Reisverslag uit Oxford, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Yoshka Plu - WaarBenJij.nu

Sunday, Monday, Tuesday

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yoshka

23 Oktober 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Oxford

I am here for 4 days, 5 after this one, and I have been really busy. Too busy to update my blog actually but I'll just put three days in one blog.

Last Sunday was really nice. Daisy and I woke up late, which was good because I was pretty tired, and had porridge for breakfast. It took me some time to find out what is was but once I saw her making it I realized it was called 'pap' in Holland. After that Daisy got dressed ( I was dressed already) and we visited Oxford. She showed me some 'Britty' things, or at least that's how she called it ;), and we visited many shops. We bought this candy called millions which are like very tiny balls with which are very chewy and they have a flavor. They are really good and I don't think we have them in Holland. We too bought chewing gum from which one was flavored vanilla raspberry cupcake and the other mint chocolate ice cream. I was really surprised about the odd flavors but the taste was really good. Too bad we don't have them, or at least, not that I know of.
For dinner we had a so called Sunday roast, which was really much and really good. It was like a dinner and everything was roasted. We had this whole chicken with roasted potatoes, broccoli and carrot. With it was gravy and I ate way too much, but in my defense, it was really good.

On Monday my first day of school started which was pretty exciting. After having cereal for breakfast we left off for our half a hour walk to school. That was the first thing that was really different already, we walked. Of course I know how to walk but I normally go to school by bike. We first had science, which practically was chemistry, and that was very different than our chemistry. It was much more theory and I have seen no calculations at all.
The next class did have lots of calculations, Maths. They had a so called progress test. After you made this test you could see how well you knew all the topics they had, but it would not count towards anything.
The next class was a double (2 hours) English in which they had to write an essay about the flaws of the main character in MacBeth and Jakyll and Hyde, two books, had in common. I, obviously, could not really do anything there, so I did my own homework. The last class was history, which was pretty interesting. In the class there were a couple more people than in ours. Approximately 15 I guess. We first did some grammar and after that we translated some texts. It was pretty difficult to translate it in English since you had to translate the Latin to dutch and than translate is to the most logical word in English. But I really liked seeing it and I copied some 'English Latin' to show it to my Latin teacher :).

After that we had Latin. This was a really interesting thing to see.
On Tuesday we first had English, science, double history and PE. Physical education was pretty fun. We did badminton, which I used to do as a sport and I hadn't done in a long time, and it was really nice! In several classes we are mixed up with different years, and PE is one of them. In history there are different children of different ages too, which is a bit weird. I was wondering how they did this, since the topics either must be really easy for the older ones or really difficult for the younger once. It's the first; people can choose history on a certain age, therefore the people who drop out when they are done with school leave and the people who choose history get in again. Or at least, that's what I understood.

So that were two school days which were really nice. The next time I update my blog I will tell a bit more about the breaks and the people I've met.

  • 27 Oktober 2014 - 10:06

    Katja Storm:

    Hoe is het met je? Ik hoop dat we niets meer op je blog lezen omdat je het heeeeeel erg naar je zin hebt en heel druk bent met vanalles en nogwat. Ik hoop op een postje vandaag! Groetjes!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Yoshka

This blog will be updated as frequently as possible. In this blog I will tell about my internship in Oxford.

Actief sinds 17 Okt. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 181
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2955

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Oktober 2014 - 31 Oktober 2014

My internship in Oxford

Landen bezocht: