18-10-14 - Reisverslag uit Oxford, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Yoshka Plu - WaarBenJij.nu 18-10-14 - Reisverslag uit Oxford, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Yoshka Plu - WaarBenJij.nu

18-10-14

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yoshka

18 Oktober 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Oxford

It was only 6 am when my alarm bell rang and made me realize that I had to wake up. Not fully understanding why someone would wake up at six in the weekend , the suitcase next to me on the left had to make me realize that I was going to Oxford. After taking a shower and quickly packing the last things the car headed of to France where the boat would leave to Dover.

On the boat I had to speak English already. Beside the fact that they (luckily)only spoke English, French wasn't really an option. After two hours I arrived in England. There a three hour long trip followed and nervously I rang the bell at Daisy's house. I have been having contact with her throughout the year so I did know her quite well already. Once the door opened a very enthusiastic and big dog was barking at me because he, of course, had no idea who I was. But after he had been calmed down I could introduce myself to Daisy, which was quite unnecessary really, and I gave her my present. The present was a basket fully filled with typical dutch food. We tried lots of it and it was really funny to see their reactions when you translate 'pepernoten' literally from dutch to English.

Then I got to see my room, which is really, really nice! I sleep in a bed made for two people with a really nice blanket which is really soft. I have no idea what kind of material it is and I am not quite sure if I want to know since it might be the fur of an animal... I did hear the word seal drop so... Anyways, I do not have to share a bathroom because I have one for myself! I am really grateful that they give me such a nice place to stay. I really didn't expect it and I really appreciate it.

Later, when her mom got home, I got to meet her and her two brothers. They were really nice and her mother is willing to do everything to make me feel comfortable!

For dinner we ate chili con carne, which was really nice and after apple crumble. Later Daisy and I watched a movie, pitch perfect (from which I thought it was really good and funny) and then we went to bed.

It was a really long but good day and I am really glad to say that I feel very comfortable in my host family.

  • 19 Oktober 2014 - 22:36

    Katja Storm:

    Hoi Yoshka! Leuk dat het zo goed klikt met je host family! Wel zo gezellig, toch? En wat een luxe, zo'n eigen kamer met badkamer. Ik hoop dat je straks thuis nog kunt wennen aan je eigen kamer ;) Benieuwd hoe je het de rest van de week gaat hebben! Groeten, Katja Storm

  • 22 Oktober 2014 - 14:35

    Hanneke Moors:

    Good to read that your first meeting with your host family went so well and that you have such a nice place to stay! Hopefully, your time at the school will be just as nice. Perhaps you could go to France for your next internship ;-)?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Yoshka

This blog will be updated as frequently as possible. In this blog I will tell about my internship in Oxford.

Actief sinds 17 Okt. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 161
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2949

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Oktober 2014 - 31 Oktober 2014

My internship in Oxford

Landen bezocht: